Shweta & Baby Aria: Becoming a World

One of the most endearing things to behold in life is the miracle of how a woman transforms immediately from someone who lives for herself into someone who lives for another tiny little human being.

DSC_0063

In my experience nursing is waiting. The mother becomes the background against which the baby lives, becomes time. I used to exist against the continuity of time. Then I became the baby’s continuity, a background of ongoing time for him to live against. I was the warmth and milk that was always there for him. My body, my life, became the landscape of my son’s life. I am no longer merely a thing living in the world, I am a world.” – Sarah Manguso, ‘Ongoingness’

DSC_0236

Leave a Reply

